Rose wins Mt Lawn Enduro

Ronnie Rose of Anderson won the 100 lap Thunder Car Enduro Sunday afternoon at Mt Lawn Speedway located five miles west of New Castle.  Lenny Tungate of New Castle won the Hornet feature and Ben Vandyke of Morristown won the Rookie Feature.

Twenty-six cars started the Enduro with David Clark of Muncie and New Castle native and longtime Mt Lawn racer James Dean on the front row.  Clark got the on lap one and held that spot for the first four laps when Dean got around him and led the next three laps.  Eddie Claborn of Knightstown took the lead on lap eight and led the next thirteen laps when Johnny Magee of Carthage took over on lap twenty one with Rose running in eighth position.  Rose got around Neil Marcum of Morristown on lap thirty two and set his sights on Magee with Marcum a close third.  Magee led the next sixteen laps with Rose giving him a few taps on his rear bumper to let him know he was there.  On lap sixty two Rose got Magee a little out of shape and grabbed the lead exiting the big turn and took the lead.   Before Rose made it to the short turn Magee returned the love tap to Rose getting both Rose and Magee out of shape and giving the lead back to Marcum with Magee second.  Rose finally cleared Magee for second on lap sixty five and passed Marcum on lap seventy and led the rest of the way.  Magee’s transmission let go and his mount caught fire exiting the short turn on lap seventy sending him out of the race.   Marcum held on to finish second followed by Andrew Walker of Sulphur Springs,  Jason Walker of Sulphur, Jesse Bilbrey of Anderson, Doug Dugger of Greenfield, Clark, Hanna Lundy of Anderson, David Lester of Greenfield and David McConnell of Shirley rounding out the top ten.

In the Hornet feature Tungate took the lead on lap five of the twenty lap event and went on the comfortable victory over Zach Lacy of New Castle who finished second.  Les Tolliver of New Castle finished third followed by Freddie Marlow of New Castle, Andy Jennings of Richmond, Brian Slavey of New Castle, Larry Hughes Jr. of Greensboro, Rookie point champion from 2011 Alex Bailey of New Castle and Mike Alley of New Castle who finished tenth.  Tungate won the dash for cash with Hughes and Marlow winning the heats.

Rookie Hornet action saw Vandyke make a clean sweep of things in his Mt Lawn debut by winning the dash for cash, heat and feature.  Vandyke was followed by Terry Neal and Mike Shepard both of New Castle.

Mt Lawn will take Mother Day weekend off and be back in action for Opening Night on Saturday May 19th.  Late Models, Thunder Cars, Hornets, Rookie Hornet and Faskarts will make up the racing program.  Check the Mt Lawn website for addition information or call the track phone at 765-521-4244.