Opening night this Saturday at Mt Lawn

The 2012 season will kickoff this Saturday night May 19th at the Mt Lawn Speedway located 5 miles west of New Castle.Practice and grandstand gates will open at 5:00 with qualifications at 6:15 and racing starting promptly at 7:30.Late Models, VanHoy Oil Thunder Cars, Hornets Rookie Hornets and FasKarts make up the racing program.Grandstand gates and practice open at 5, qualifications at 6:15 with racing promptly at 7:30.Ticket prices are $10 for adults, $8 or seniors, kids 6-10 $5 with 6 and under free.

Late Model point champion Scott Knepley of Greensboro is expected to be back to defend his title and will be up against some stiff competition.Runner up in 2011 Ralph Lane of Greensburg is taking the year off to pursue other interests but his car will be piloted by Bill Clark of Rushville, Clark finished third in 2011.Jeff and Neil Marcum of Morristown will be back in 2012.LJ Lines of Lewisville will be at the wheel of Kevin Garnerís new Monte Carlo with Lyle Johnson of New Castle turning some of the wrenches.Four time point champion Eric Evans of Greenfield will be back driving for father-in-law Frank Dyer of Greenfield.Brandon Mefford of Spiceland will be in the starting field Saturday night driving his own Monte Carlo.Bill Pierce of New Castle will have one of their two cars ready for opening night and will be driven by Bill Pierce Jr.Pierceís second are is scheduled to be driven by Johnny Magee of Carthage as soon as it is completed.Bill Evans of Greenfield will be starting his second season in the Late Model division along with long time Mt Lawn veteran Kent Carson of Richmond and Brock Anderson of Albany.New comers to the Late Model division will be Mike Roberts of Indianapolis and Wes Duval of New Castle.Both Roberts and Duval will have new cars for 2012.

The VanHoy Oil Thunder Car division will be led by 2011 point champion David McConnell of Shirley.McConnell has experienced some bad luck already in 2012 by losing two engines before the season starts.McConnell is determined to turn things around quickly and will face a large number of Thunder Car drivers determined to dethrone the 2011 champ.Andrew Walker of Sulphur Springs appears to offer McConnell all he can handle by his results in early season practice and a third place finish in the May 6th Thunder Enduro.Johnny Magee of Carthage who led the Enduro for several laps until his transmission gave up has indicated he intends to run full time at Mt Lawn this year.Others expected to strong contenders are Cody Walker of Sulphur Springs, Jeff or Neil Marcum of Morristown, Jason Walker of Sulphur, Jim Walker of Cambridge City, Jameson Owens of Greenfield, Danny Key, of Rushville, Adam and Chris Bolyard of Rushville, Jesse Bilbrey of Anderson, Kyle Evans of Shirley, David Clark of Muncie, Johnny Paul Starks of Fortville and Williams of Rushville.Veteran Mt Lawn chauffeur Eddie Claborn of Knightstown will have a new Thunder Car and is expected to take on all comers.Claborn appeared to be on his way to the Thunder Enduro win until brake problems caused him to slow in the late stages of the race.Others expected to be on hand for opening night are Collie Foust of Rushville, Michael Starks of Greenfield, Jim and Dylan Sexton of Greenfield.†† Also returning this year after a long layoff will be James Dean of New Castle.Jared Keller of Anderson is also expected to be on hand Saturday night.

A large contingent of Hornet drivers are also expected to be in action Saturday night.Keith Morris of New Castle has not practice yet this year but is expected to be back to defend his 2011 point championship.A large number of 2011 Rookie Hornet drivers headed by 2011 point champion Alex Baliey of New Castel and runner up Cody Riley of Middletown must move up to the Hornet division opening up spots for newbies to get started this year in the Rookie Hornets.