Knepley awarded May 5-0 first place

Veteran Mt Lawn Stock Car pilot LJ Lines of Lewisville proved he can still get the job at Mt Lawn by a dominating performance in the May 5-0 for Late Models Saturday night at the famous track located 5 miles west of New Castle.  Lines led every single lap of the 50 feature event holding off challenges from Scott Knepley of Greensboro and Eric Evans of Greenfield.  Lines was making his first appearance in the Kevin Garner Monte Carlo.  Garner is from Markleville.  Lines’ victory celebration was short lived however when his car failed post-race inspection and he was disqualified giving the win to Knepley.  When Knepley climbed out of his car to accept his second place trophy he immediately went over to Lines and congratulated him.  Neil Marcum of Morristown lost his brakes on his car and had to drop out on lap 15.  Jeff Marcum also of Morristown dropped out on lap 18, after a spin that collected Brandon Mefford of Spiceland, with frozen right front brake caliper.  Bill Evans of Greenfield went to the pits for good on lap 38 with mechanical failure.  Eric Evans finished second followed by Mefford, Jason Thompson of Shirley, Bill Pierce Jr of New Castle, Kent Carson of Richmond, Bill Evans, Jeff Marcum and Neil Marcum.  Eric Evans set fast time at 17.254 with Jeff Marcum winner of the Larry’s Auto Dash for Cash.  Larry’s Auto is an auto repair facility located in Gwynneville Indiana just East of Morristown.

The Thunder Car portion of the May 5-0’s went to another Mt Lawn vet Johnny Magee of Carthage.  David Clark of Muncie led the first lap giving way to James Dean of New Castle on lap 2.  Dean led until lap 8 when Magee took over and led the rest of the way.  Magee said in his victory lane interview that he made some tire changes on his car after he qualified and it made a big difference in the performance of  his car so much so he was worried about running over his time during the race.  Timing and scoring reported that Magee was indeed close to running over his time but never actually broke the .3 second cushion.  Second place went to Andrew Walker of Sulphur Springs followed by Jameson Owens of Greenfield, Nick Warner of Anderson, Neil Marcum, Frankie Oakes of Cambridge City, Danny Key of Rushville, and Kyle Evans of Shirley, Dean and Clark.  Walker set fast time at 18.654 with David McConnell of Shirley winning the Larry’s Auto Dash for Cash.

The Hornet 50 lap feature went to Keith Morris of New Castle.  Morris got around Lenny Tungate of New Castle on lap 44 after Tungate got caught in traffic.  Tungate was attempting to put Taylor Wyman of Parker City a lap down but couldn’t make the pass exiting the short turn giving Morris the inside to take the lead.  Tungate crossed the finish line in second place but was DQ’q when he refused the Hornet division claim rule.  Randy Owen of Anderson finished in second place followed by Larry Hughes Jr of Greensboro, Andy Jennings of Richmond, Scott Kilgore of New Castle, Cody Slavey of New Castle, Wyman and Cody Rhinehart of New Castle.  Joyce Dyer of Greenfield set fast time at 19.940 with Morris winning the Larry’s Auto Dash for cash.

The 25 lap Rookie Hornet feature once again went to Ben Vandyke of Morristown.  Vandyke took the lead on lap 3 from Ryan Reno of New Castle and led the rest of the way.  Vandyke was followed closely by John Shelton of New Castle, Reno, Cory Slavey of New Castle, Mike Shepard of Knightstown, Terry Neal of New Castle, Derek Seyfferkey of New Castle, and Rodney Sutton of New Castle.  Shelton set fast time at 20.281 and won the Larry’s Auto Dash for Cash.