Late yellow costs Mefford feature win

Brandon Mefford of Spiceland definitely had the car to beat Saturday night at the Mt Lawn Speedway.  Mefford appeared to be on cruise control from the time he took the lead from Neil Marcum of Morristown on lap 2 of the 30 lap feature event for the Late Models.  Marcum ran a distant second to Mefford until a yellow flag on lap 23 for a spinning Scott Knepley of Greensboro in the big turn after contact with Jason Thompson of Shirley.  On the double file restart Mefford got the jump on Thompson but on the entrance to the short turn Mefford realized that he had very little brakes and had to set his car sideways in the turn to avoid hitting the wall.  With Mefford sliding through the short turn Jeff Marcum of Morristown took advantage of the opening on the inside to dive under Mefford for the lead.  Marcum led the rest of the way for the win followed by Thompson, Knepley, Neil Marcum, Mefford, Bill Pierce Jr. of New Castle, David McConnell of Shirley and Kent Carson of Richmond.  Knepley had fast time at 17.380; Mefford won the Larry’s Auto Dash for Cash with Neil Marcum and Thompson winning the heats.  After the race Mefford said “After the restart I had little to no brakes and decided to take it real easy the rest of the way to avoid wrecking the car.”  In his victory lane interview Marcum said, “Without that yellow flag I don’t think I had enough to get around both my brother Neil and Mefford.  Mefford looked like he was really hooked up.”

In the Thunder Car feature Jameson Owens of Greenfield won for the first time in 2012.  Jim Walker of Cambridge City led the first two laps until David Clark of Muncie took over on lap three and led the next three laps.  Owens got around Clark on lap 6 and led the rest of the way.  Johnny Magee of Carthage finished second followed by Andrew Walker of Sulphur Springs.  The younger Walker was making his last start at Mt Lawn for a while as he is entering the military service this week.  Walker was honored by the crowd by a standing ovation as he paced the field preparing to start the feature.  Jason Walker of Sulphur Springs finished fourth, Kyle Evans of Shirley fifth, Clark sixth, Jim Walker seventh and Dustin Foust of Rushville eighth.  Mark West of Parker City and Jeff Marcum did not start the feature.  Fast time was set by Magee at 18.459, with Owens taking the Larry’s Auto Dash for Cash and Magee and Evans won the heats.

Hornet action had Joseph Jennings of Richmond winning his first feature at Mt Lawn. Jennings took the lead from Brian Slavey of New Castle on lap 3 and led the rest of the way.  Jeff Sorrell of New Castle closed the gap between himself and Jennings every lap after moving into second on lap 7.  Sorrell ran out of laps and settled for second followed by Andy Jennings of Richmond, Keith Morris of New Castle, Randy Owen of Anderson, Lenny Tungate of New Castle, Larry Hughes Jr. of Greensboro, Slavey, Joyce Dyer of Greenfield and Taylor Wyman of Selma.  Andy Jennings had fast time at 19.579; Hughes won the Larry’s Auto Dash for Cash with Owen and Les Tolliver of New Castle winning the heats.

Rookie Hornets’ were again dominated by Ben Vandyke of Morristown.  Vandyke set fast time for the Rookies at 19.906 and by virtue of cars electing to start at the rear of the field put Vandyke on the front row.  Vandyke led the entire race but did get a serious challenge from John Shelton of New Castle who wound up second.  Darian McConnell of Shirley finished third followed by Terry Neal of New Castle, Ryan Reno of New Castle, Cody Slavey of New Castle and Mike Shepard of Knightstown.  Shelton won the Larry’s Auto Dash for Cash with Reno and Shelton winning the heats.

Chris Jennings driving a 98 Chevy Malibu beat Cody Riley in a 98 Dodge Neon in the 10 car Street Drags.

Next week the UMRA Midgets make their first appearance at Mt Lawn in 2012 joining the Late Models, Thunder Cars, Hornet and Rookie Hornets.