Marcum, Jennings, Vandyke and Fehrman Mt Lawn winners

Jeff Marcum of Morristown won two features, Andy Jennings of Richmond, Ben Vandyke of Morristown and Eric Fehrman of Fairmount at the Mt Lawn Speedway Saturday night.

In the late model feature Jason Thompson of Shirley appeared to be on his way to his first victory of the season as he led the first 22 laps of the 30 lap event.  On lap 23 a hard charging LJ Lines of Lewisville brought out a yellow when he ruptured a top radiator hose in the short turn.  Lines was done for the evening and on the double file restart Jeff Marcum lined up alongside Thompson.  As the two entered the short turn contact was made and Thompson spun forcing him to the tail for the restart.  Marcum led the rest of the way for the win followed by Neil Marcum of Morristown; Thompson recovered over the final 8 laps to finish third, Bill Pierce Jr. of New Castle, David McConnell of Shirley, Kent Carson of Richmond and Lines.  Jeff Marcum set fast time at 17.379; Thompson won the Mt Lawn Car Show Dash for Cash with Neil Marcum and Pierce winning the heats.

Jeff Marcum also won the Thunder Car feature taking the lead from Jason Walker of Sulphur Springs on lap 25 and led the rest of the way.  Chris Bolyard of Rushville led lap one with Kyle Evans of Shirley taking over to lead lap 2 through 10.  Walker took over on lap 11 and appeared to have things well in hand until his transmission gave up on lap 25.  Evans finished second followed by Danny Key of Rushville, Bolyard, Dustin Foust of Rushville, Walker and David Clark of Muncie.  Clark left the race on lap 18 with a flat rear tire.  Johnny Magee of Carthage and Jameson Owens of Greenfield were not allowed to compete in the feature due to a pit area violation.  Owens had fast time at 18.517; Marcum won the Mt Lawn Car Show Dash for Cash and the first heat with Evans take heat #2.

Andy Jennings of Richmond picked up the Hornet feature leading the final 10 laps of the 25 lap affair.  Alex Bailey of New Castle led the first 15 and ended up second followed by Jeff Sorrell of New Castle, Randy Owen of Anderson, Joyce Dyer of Greenfield, Keith Morris of New Castle, Larry Hughes Jr. of Greensboro, Joseph Jennings of Richmond, Scott Kilgore of New Castle and Emily Henderson New Castle.  Andy Jennings had fast time at 19.675 and won the Mt Lawn Car Show Dash for Cash.  Sorrell and Bailey won the heats.

Rookie Hornet action saw a clean sweep once again from Ben Vandyke.  John Shelton of New Castle finished second followed by Ryan Reno of New Castle, Rodney Sutton of New Castle and Darian McConnell of Shirley.  Shelton had fast time at 20.138 with Vandyke taking the dash and the heat.

Eric Fehrman won the UMRA feature event.  Complete race details can be found on the web at

Next week at Mt Lawn will the Bob Fields 100 a 100 lap Street Stock race paying $1000 to the winner.  Also on the racing program will be the Late Models, Thunder Cars, Hornets and Rookie Hornets.