Bob Fields night at Mt Lawn this Saturday

This Saturday night June 16 Mt Lawn Speedway will honor one of its all-time great drivers with the running of the Bob Fields 100 a 100 lap Street Stock race.  Fields, of Willow Branch, is the winningest driver in the long history of Mt Lawn.  He was the first living member to be inducted into the Mt Lawn Hall of Fame. He has won numerous track championships and is a three time winner of the Raintree 100 winning the event in ’78, ’84 and ‘85.

Last year the Street Stocks made one appearance at Mt Lawn with 21 cars on hand.  According to Calvin Parham of Knightstown who is the race promoter and a competitor, “I am expecting close to the same turnout as we had last year”.  Last year former Mt Lawn Champion Jeff Lane of Knightstown won the race and will be in the starting lineup this year along with is son Colby.  Jeff will be driving for Chew-Davis race team and Colby will be driving the car that is father drove to victory last year.  Also expected in the starting field will be Ronnie Rose of Anderson.  Rose won the 100 lap Thunder Car Enduro held at Mt Lawn in May of this year.  Brian Hopkins of New Castle ran in last year’s race and is expected to compete again this year.  Others who have committed to run are Larry Latham of Brooks, Ky., Jimmy Kirby of Indianapolis, Johnny Magee of Carthage, Tom Gossar of Markleville Frankie Oakes of Cambridge City and more.

Late Models, Thunder Cars, Hornets, Rookie Hornets and FasKarts will also be on the racing program.  The pit gate opens at 3:00, practice and grandstand gates open at 5:00, qualifications at 6:15 with racing starting at 7:30.  The Bob Fields “100” is scheduled to get underway around 8:30.

Ticket prices are $12 for adults, $10 for seniors, $5 for kids 6-10 with 5 and under free.  Mt Lawn is located at 1494 S CR 400 W New Castle or enter Mt Lawn, In on your smart phone navigation.