Thompson wins first Mt Lawn Late Model feature

Jason Thompson came close to winning the Late Model feature at Mt Lawn Speedway last week and made it happen this week.

Kevin Claborn of Cambridge City making his first start at Mt Lawn in 2012 took the lead of the feature event and led the first three laps.  LJ Lines of Lewisville got around Claborn on lap 4 and let the next 14 circuits.  Fast qualifier Thompson passed Lines on lap 18 and steadily pulled away from the field to go on to the win.  Wes Russell Jr. of Muncie making his initial start of the season finished second followed by Eric Evans of Greenfield, Scott Knepley of Greensboro, Bill Pierce Jr. of New Castle, David McConnell of Shirley, Kent Carson of Richmond, Brandon Mefford of Spiceland and Claborn.  Thompson quick time was 17.018 and Knepley won the Danny Acrey Dash for Cash.

In the Street Stock race staged to honor Mt Lawn legend Bob Fields of Willow Branch, Calvin Parham of Knightstown took top honors in the 75 lap feature.  Johnny Magee of Carthage took the lead of the event at the drop of the green flag and led the first 13 laps.  Jimmy Kirby of Indianapolis making only his second start at Mt Lawn dove under Magee entering the short turn on lap 14 and took the lead with Jeff Lane of Knightstown moving to second on the next lap.  Kirby looked to have the field covered as he able to keep 2 to 3 car length advantage over Lane for the next 39 laps.  On lap 54 Parham got around Lane and picked up the chase of Kirby.  On lap 56 a yellow came out for the car of Tom Gossar that spun in the short turn.  On the double file restart Parham started on the outside of Kirby but Kirby outgunned Parham into the first turn to maintain the lead.  On lap 61 Lane got back around Parham for second but Parham returned the favor on lap 65.  On lap 70 the yellow flew for the last time for debris in the short turn.  This time Parham was able to take the lead from Kirby on the restart and went on to the win.  Kirby finished second followed by Lane, Kevin Claborn, Jon Conklin of Anderson, Tom Gossar, Magee, Colby Lane of Knightstown, and Robbie Wyman of Muncie.  Parham set fast time at 17.806 and won the Danny Acrey Dash for Cash.

Jason Walker of Sulphur Springs won the Thunder Car feature leading the final 21 laps for the win.  Chris Bolyard of Rushville led the first 3 laps of the thirty-one lap event when Trent Gossar of Markleville took the lead on lap 5.  The Late Model and Thunder Car features were 31 laps in length as a tribute to Bob Fields famous #31 cars he drove at Mt Lawn for years.  Jesse Bilbrey of Markleville got around Gossar on lap 7.  An accident between Johnny Magee, Bilbrey and Jameson Owens of Greenfield on lap eight sent both Bilbrey and Owens to the pits for good.  Neither driver was injured.  On the restart Walker beat Magee into the first turn to grab the lead and led the rest of the way.  Magee finished second followed by Danny Key of Rushville, Trent Gossar, Jim Walker of Cambridge City, Kyle Evans of Shirley, David Clark of Muncie, Collie Foust of Rushville, Bolyard and Bilbrey.  Jason Walker set fast time at 18.386 with Magee winning the hotly contested Danny Acrey Dash for Cash.

Hornet action saw Larry Hughes Jr. of Greensboro win for the first time in 2012.  Lenny Tungate of New Castle took the lead at the start and led the first 15 laps.  A yellow on lap 14 allowed the field to bunch up for the double file restart.  Hughes finally took the lead on lap 16 and led the rest of the way.  Andy Jennings of Richmond finished second followed by Randy Owen of Anderson, Tungate, Jeff Sorrell of New Castle, Keith Morris of New Castle, Brian Slavey of New Castle, Joyce Dyer of Greenfield, Joseph Jennings of Richmond and Taylor Wyman of Selma.  Andy Jennings had fast time at 19.737 with Hughes winning the Danny Acrey Dash for Cash.

In Rookie Hornet action fast qualifier Darian McConnell of Shirley and Ben Vandyke of Morristown tangled on the first lap of the feature sending McConnell backing hard into the backstretch wall.  Both McConnell’s and Vandyke’s car were heavily damaged but neither driver was injured.  Cory Slavey of New Castle took the lead on the restart and led the first two laps.  On lap 3 John Shelton of New Castle took over but tangled with Slavey and Ryan Reno of New Castle in the short turn.  All cars were able to continue without bringing out the yellow giving the lead to Rodney Sutton of New Castle.  Sutton had a sizeable lead over Reno who was now running second and appeared to be on his way to his first win.  Reno however had other ideas and was able to run down Sutton on lap 12.  Reno went on to take the win followed by Sutton, Slavey, Shelton, McConnell and Vandyke.  McConnell’s fast time was 20.393 and Shelton won the Danny Acrey Dash for Cash.

Randy Caldwell of Indianapolis won the 14 car Indy FasKart feature  followed by David Reynolds of Indy, Ryan Cherry of Indy, Joel Saylor, Elvin Acree, Garry Saylor, Buss Moore,  Aleigha Caldwell, Jason Reynolds, Angie Gooden, Ben Smith, Donovan Hill, Kyle Byrd and Glenn Saylor.  FasKart heat winners were David Reynolds and Ryan Cherry.

Next week will be Mt Lawn’s annual fireworks show along with Big Wheel races for the kids.  Check out the website for additional information.