Knepley, Walker, Hughes and VanDyke are Mt Lawn victors

Scott Knepley of Spiceland survived and early race accident and recovered to win the Late Model feature at Mt Lawn Saturday night.  Knepley started sixth and was running in second position by lap 3 behind David McConnell of Shirley.  Wes Russell Jr of Muncie dropped out of the race on lap 3 with a broken a frame after a tangle in the short turn.  L J Lines of Lewisville got around McConnell for the lead on lap 6 as Knepley went off the track in the short turn.  Knepley returned to the track but had to start in the rear for the double file restart.  Jason Thompson of Shirley was attempting the take the lead from Lines on lap 8 but the two made contact entering the short turn causing both to spin.  After the dust cleared Thompson and Lines both went to the pit area.  Thompson had a broken tie rod and Lines a flat tire.  After quick work by his pit crew Lines returned to the action but Thompson was done for the evening.  The Thompson-Lines accident gave the lead back to McConnell a lead he held until lap 19 when Knepley recaptured the top spot.  Lines moved into second on lap 24 but didn’t have enough laps remaining to run down Knepley.  Lines finished second followed by McConnell, David Clark of Muncie, Bill Pierce of New Castle, Kent Carson of Richmond, Brock Anderson of Albany, Randy Anderson of Knightstown, Thompson, Russell Jr. and Wes Duvall of Mt Summit.  Thompson set fast time at 17.237 and won the first heat with Brock Anderson winning the second heat.

Point leader David Clark of Muncie led the first two laps of the VanHoy Oil Thunder Car feature until last week’s feature winner Wes Russell Sr. of Muncie took over on lap 3.  Russell led the next 14 laps until Jason Walker of Sulphur Springs took over on lap 17 and led the rest of the way for the win.  Russell Sr. finished second followed by Danny Key of Rushville, Clark, Dustin Foust of Rushville, and Chris Bolyard of Rushville, Mark West of Parker City and Jim Walker of Cambridge City.  Jason Walker set fast time at 18.671 with the heats going to Russell Sr. and Jim Walker.

Larry Hughes Jr of Greensboro pulled off a clean sweep in the Hornet division by setting fast time at 19.522 and winning the first heat and the feature.  In the feature event Andy Jennings of Richmond took the lead at the drop of the green flag and led the first 6 laps.  Joseph Jennings of Richmond got around Cousin Andy on lap seven to claim the lead.  The younger Jennings lead was short lived as Hughes Jr. took over the top spot on lap 9 and led the rest of the way.  Keith Morris of New Castle finished second followed by Taylor Wyman of Selma, Joseph Jennings, Lenny Tungate of New Castle, Andy Jennings, Jeff Sorrell of New Castle, Scott Kilgore of New Castle and Emily Henderson of New Castle.  Tungate took he win in the second heat.

Ben VanDyke of Morristown won his eighth Rookie Hornet feature of the year over Terry Neal of New Castle, Rodney Sutton of New Castle, Andy Shirley of Sheridan and James Young of Greenfield.  Neal set fast time at 20.058 while VanDyke took the heat.

Brian Engle of Spiceland in a Geo Storm took the Street Drag final over Daniel Hart who was driving a 00 Intrepid.  Hart spun in the short turn coming to the checkered flag.

Next week is the Founders Day event with the VanHoy Oil Thunders and the Hornets running in 50 lap features.  Also on the racing program will be Late Models and Rookie Hornets.