Knepley and Hughes win Mt Lawn openers


Two time defending Late Model point champion Scott Knepley of Spiceland started 2013 with a win in the Van Hoy Oil series Late Models at Mt Lawn Speedway.  Knepley led the final twenty-nine laps of  the thirty lap feature to claim the win.  Bill Pierce of New Castle finished second followed by Johnny Magee of Carthage, Tony Stewart of Straughn, Robert Sapp of Indianapolis, Brad Anderson of Albany, Chris Bolyard of Rushville, Brandon Mefford of Spiceland and Jacob Wyman of Selma.  Mefford set fast time at 17.268 and won his heat race.  Mefford gave Knepley some strong competition until he was forced to drop out on lap 12 with ignition problems.  Knepley won the dash.

Larry Hughes Jr. of Greensboro led the final 14 laps of the Van Hoy Oil series Hornet division to take the win.  Derrick Hoppy of Fort Wayne led the first three laps when Mark Jennings of Richmond took over on lap 4. On lap 8 Joseph Jennings of Richmond took over the top spot and held it until Hughes took over on lap 12.  Joseph Jennings finished second followed by Mark Jennings, Terry Neal of New Castle, Jared Keller of Anderson, Adam Lee of New Castle, Rayce Sayer of Greenfield, Hoppy, Kenneth Spiller of Fort Wayne and Rodney Sutton of New Castle.  Steven Grewin of Fort Wayne, Joe Jennings of Richmond and Brian Slavey of New Castle did not start the feature.  Hughes set fast time at 19.280 and won his heat and the dash.  Hoppy captured the second heat.

Sean Cougill in a 2002 Subaru beat Nick Pollitt in the finals of the State Farm Insurance street drags.

Next week Van Hoy Oil series Late Models, Thunder Cars and Hornets return along with State Farm Insurance Street Drags.