Thompson, Stewart and Hughes victors at Mt Lawn


Jason Thompson of Shirley picked up his second feature win of the year Saturday night at the Mt Lawn Speedway in the Van Hoy Oil Late Model division.  Thompson took the lead of the race on the very first lap when he passed both Brock Anderson of Albany and Kent Carson of Richmond.  Thompson led all the way for the win.  Brandon Mefford of Spiceland finished second followed by Anderson, Bill Pierce Jr. of New Castle, Carson, Chris Bolyard of Rushville and Jacob Wyman of Selma.  Fast time went to Thompson at 17.168 and Mefford won the first heat.  A special Australian Pursuit race was held in the Late Models.  In the pursuit race once a car is passed by another car the passed car must drop out of the race.  On lap one Mefford got around Anderson.  On lap two Mefford took out Wyman.  On lap three Mefford got Bolyard and Carson which set the stage for a Mefford/Thompson battle the rest of the way.  Thompson pulled alongside of Mefford on laps six and seven but could not complete the pass.  Mefford went on to the win with Thompson settling for second.

Tony Stewart of Shirley won for the second time this year in the Van Hoy Oil Thunder Car division.  David McConnell of Shirley finished second followed by John Sexton of Greenfield.  Fast time went to Stewart at 18.511 who also won the heat with McConnell winning he pursuit race.

Larry Hughes Jr of Greensboro won for the third time this year in the Van Hoy Oil Hornet division.  Mark Jennings of Richmond took the lead at the drop of the green flag and led the first four laps.  John Massengale of New Castle got around Jennings on lap five and started to pull away from the field.  Hughes finally worked his way through traffic and moved into second place on lap 15.  Hughes started to reel in Massengale and was able to take the lead on lap twenty-three and led the rest of the way.  Massengale held on to second followed by Mark Jennings, Nick Pollitt of New Castle, Taylor Wyman of Selma, Terry Neal of New Castle, Joseph Jennings of Richmond, Rodney Sutton of New Castle, Adam Lee of New Castle, Rayce Saer of Greenfield, Jeff Sorrell of New Castle, Jared Keller of Anderson, Chris Jennings of Richmond and Joe Jennings of Richmond.  The cars of Keller and Sorrell were severely in an accident on the last lap of the race but neither driver was injured.

Brett Kendall driving an 09 Dodge Charger beat Tyler Lawson in a Mercury Mountaineer in the State Farm Insurance Street Drags.