## Stewart is a double winner again at Mt Lawn

Straughn's Tony Stewart proved Sunday night that his two feature wins on August 13 of this year was no fluke as he dominated the Street Stock and Van Hoy Oil Thunder Car features at Mt Lawn Speedway.

Only three Street Stocks were on hand for what will probably their last appearance of the year at Mt Lawn. Stewart took the lead from Anderson's Josh Poore on lap 7 after Poore went off the track in the short turn. Poore hit the turn one wall two laps later when a suspension part broke. Stewart then held off Jason Thompson of Shirley the rest of the way for the win. Thompson had his own problems in practice when apparently his throttle stuck coming down the front stretch sending him into the wall. Thompson and crew changed upper and lower A-frames, right side tires and wheels and removed heavily damages sheet metal in time to make the feature. Stewart had fast time and Poore won the Payne's Auto Parts Dash for Cash.

At the start of the Van Hoy Oil Thunder Car feature Jameson Owens of Greenfield slammed the first turn wall bringing out the red flag while medical personnel attended to him. Owens was transported to Henry County Hospital as a precautionary measure and was treated and released according to the hospital. Bill Clark of Rushville led the first three laps when David McConnell of Shirley got around him to take the lead on lap 4. McConnell led until lap twelve when Stewart made a pass and led McConnell the rest of the way. Ronnie Rose of Anderson was third followed by Mike Worrell of Muncie, Brian Slavey of New Castle, Clark, Jim Walker of Cambridge City, Frankie Oakes of Cambridge City, Jason Pitts of Anderson and A.J. Stewart of Straughn was tenth. Fast time went to Tony Stewart and McConnell won the Payne's Auto Parts Dash for Cash.

In the Pro Compacts Terry Neal of New Castle made it two in a row by taking a close win over Adam Lee of New Castle. Dakoda Myers of New Castle took the lead at the start giving way to Joe Jennings of Richmond. Neal took over on lap eleven and led the rest of the way. Lee finished second followed by Chris Jennings of Richmond, Joseph Jennings of Richmond, Tom Gossar Jr. of Markleville, Donald VanValkenburg III of Indianapolis, Mike Alley of Anderson, Josh Neal of New Castle and tenth went to Elliott McKinney of

Anderson. Neal set fast time in qualifications and Gossar Jr. won the Payne's Auto Parts Dash for Cash.

In the Factory Stock Front Wheel Drives Jerry Loy of Yorktown took a photo finish over Kevin Shinn of Mooresville. KC Simpson of Hagerstown finished third followed by Jeff Marlow of New Castle, Nick Bouge of Cambridge City, Johnathon Claywell of New Castle, Mike Alley of Anderson, Jason Caudill of New Castle and John Shelton of New Castle. Shinn had fast time and Caudill won the Payne's Auto Parts Dash for Cash.

The Kart feature went to Manny Agular of Indianapolis.

Jake Neal driving a '05 Dodge Ram beat Kenny Boykin of New Castle driving a '99 VW in the State Farm Insurance Street Drags. Boykin KO's his wife Donnell in the first round.

In the Big Wheel races Lukas Blair, grandson of former Thunder Car Driver Robbie Blair, won the 3-4 year olds over Kasey-Lee Pruitt of Cadiz and Brayden Ritten Berger of Straughn. In the 5-6 year olds the winner was Zane Grubbs of New Castle over Peyton Tomlin of Connersville and Kevin Rabenstine of Muncie. The 7-8 year old winner was Connor Claywell of New Castle over Lincoln Koons of Muncie and Faith Thompson of New Castle.

The next event at Mt Lawn will be Wilburn Culberson's annual Car Show to be held on Labor Day September 4th. Spectator admission to the show is free. Breakfast will be served from 8:00 – 10:30 followed by lunch starting at 11:00.

The next racing event will take place on Sunday September 10 with the running of the annual Founder's Day 100 for the Van Hoy Oil Thunder Cars.