Mt Lawn season opener in the books

Early overcast skies gave way to sunshine on a beautiful Sunday evening at Mt. Lawn Speedway, as the track hosted its 80th Season Opener with the Claborn Motors Modifieds, Fields Auto Parts Street Stocks, Sunnyside Motors Crown Vics, Marcum Welding and Steel Pro Compacts, and the Owen's Electric Stock Compacts all on the racing card.

The Claborn Motors Modifieds would see 28 teams in the pits, as the off-season proved to be a major boon to the division with more teams to come. Jeff Lane of Knightstown would record the fastest time with a time of 16.399 seconds around the 3/10ths mile oval during group qualifying. 8 Modifieds would start the B-Main with Joe Jennings of Richmond, Terry Neal of New Castle, and Chad Richardson of Ft. Wayne all finished in the top 3 to transfer into the A-Main while Gregg Cory of Shelbyville recorded the fastest lap of the race to secure the 4th and final transfer position. In the A-Main feature, Lane and Andy Cowan of Modoc would start on the front row. Lane would take the lead from the start and lead all 30 laps to claim the first modified victory of the 2021 season at Mt. Lawn. Ryan Amonett would finish 2nd with Harold Scott of New Castle rounding out the podium.

In Marcum Welding & Steel Pro Compact action Rodney Sutton of New Castle would sweep the evening, setting fast time in qualifications with a lap of 18.493 seconds and then coming from the inside of row 3 to win the feature event over Andy Jennings of Richmond in a relief role for Larry Hughes Jr. and Ron Sagers of Xenia, Ohio. It was Sager's first ever trip to the track as part of a field of 15 Pro Compacts that would compete in the event.

For the Fields Auto Parts Street Stocks, J.P. Crabtree of Muncie would secure the victory in the 31 lap feature in dominating fashion. Crabtree, who started fifth, would work his way to the lead quickly and begin pulling away, besting Kevin Claborn of Cambridge City to the line by multiple car lengths. Claborn would be followed by Ryan Amonett of New Castle.

In Sunnyside Motors Crown Vic competition, Matt Witty of Indianapolis would pull off the "Spin and Win," holding off John Lister of Louisville in a dead heat to the start finish line then spinning afterwards. Lister would finish second with Randy Owen of Anderson completing the podium in a fill-in assignment for Austin McIntyre. Frank Hardcastle of Indianapolis and Lister were the heat race winners earlier in the evening.

The Owens Electric Stock Compacts would see their ranks invaded by "outsiders", as drivers from the Indianapolis Speedrome and Ohio would join the Mt. Lawn regulars for their 20 lap feature event. 24 cars would start the feature, but would almost immediately be under a caution as Trey Baer of Kennard hit the wall in turn 1, ending his night early. It was a rough night for the Pushin Limits team based out of Kennard, as Baer, Chuck Cook of Kennard, and Jacob Johnson of New Castle would all be eliminated in either mechanical or on-track incidents before lap 5. On the track, Hensley of Springfield, Ohio would take the lead and hold it through much of the race. It was not to be. With 4 laps remaining, Hensley would be passed by Jess Holliday of Indianapolis, who would lead the remaining laps to take the victory. Hensley would finish second with Cody Griffith of Greenfield completing the podium. Corey Slavey of New Castle,

Robert Bryan of Indy, and Christopher Gray of Indy would all win heat races earlier in the evening, and for Slavey it would be his first career victory in any class, a crowning achievement for the young New Castle driver.

The next race at Mt. Lawn Speedway will be this Sunday, May 23rd and will feature the CRA Sportsman in their lone 2021 visit to Mt. Lawn, along with the Claborn Motors Modifieds, Fields Auto Parts Street Stocks, Owens Electric Stock Compacts, the Sunnyside Motors Crown Vics, and the Midwest Karting Association. Mt. Lawn Speedway is located at 1494 S. County Road 400 West in New Castle. Additional information can be found at <u>www.mtlawn.com</u> or the Mt. Lawn Speedway 2020 Facebook page.