Amonett "Turns Two" at Mt. Lawn

By Josh Bolden


The lore regarding Mt. Lawn's history prior to the track's founding is well known amongst the local residents as the now 3/10th mile oval track was once home to a baseball diamond. While you won't find any baseball players going for a grand slam anymore at Mt. Lawn, you will still find race car drivers looking to "Turn Two" as the return of the Fields Auto Parts Street Stocks and the Marcum Welding and Steel Pro Compacts would allow drivers Ryan Amonett of New Castle, Adam Lee of New Castle, Tyler DeHart of Alexandria, and Frankie Oakes of Cambridge City the opportunity to win features in a modified as well as the aforementioned classes.


In the Fields Auto Parts Street Stocks, Ryan Amonett would set fast time for the evening with a fast lap of a little over 17.5 seconds around the tricky Mt. Lawn course. With a field inversion of 4, Amonett would start outside of row 2 alongside Tyler Marsh of Muncie. Stagger Pro Motorsports teammates JP Crabtree & Nathan Greene, both of Muncie would lead the field to the green flag of the feature, but would quickly give way to Amonett who would take the lead following Marsh's spin in turn 1 on lap 3. Amonett would lead the rest of the way to take the Street Stock feature. Jimmy Kirby of Delaware County finished second with Greene, Crabtree, and Oakes rounding out the top five. Crabtree would capture the trophy dash race earlier in the evening.


In Claborn Motors Modifieds action, Amonett would again record fast time with a lap of 16.943 seconds, and would end up starting in 6th following the field inversion with Andy Cowan of Cambridge City and Jeremy Jackson of Noblesville starting on the front row for the 30 lap feature. Amonett would make his way into the top 3 by lap 10 when JJ Schafer of Columbia City made hard contact with the turn one wall. Schafer would be ok, but his night was over following the incident. Amonett would lead the event throughout, but would battle Austin Coe of Ft. Wayne over the last ten laps, as several late race cautions would bunch the field each time for double-file restarts. Amonett would hang tough however, claiming the lead each and every time on the restart and holding off Coe to take the checkered flag. Coe finished second with Cowan, Harold Scott of New Castle, and Jake Owens of Lapel rounding out the top five. Patrick Woods of New Carlisle, Ohio would win the Modified trophy dash in his first visit to Mt. Lawn.


For the Marcum Welding & Steel Pro Compacts so far in 2021, the class has been controlled by two names, Sutton and Gossar. Rodney Sutton of New Castle and Trent Gossar of Markleville. Both drivers combined have won every Pro Compact feature this season. Gossar would prove to be a strong contender, setting fast time for the class with lap of 18.462 seconds, while Sutton struggled to even get on track, failing to record a time in qualifications but would get necessary repairs completed in time for the feature, starting in the penultimate row alongside Will Jennings of New Castle. TJ Fannin of New Castle would jump out to a commanding early lead, one he would hold past the halfway mark of the event. Contact on the backstretch however would see Fannin spin on lap 12, ending his day two laps later. Darek Morris of New Castle would inherit the lead following Fannin's misfortune and lead the final 8 laps to capture his first career feature victory at Mt. Lawn Speedway. Sutton would finish second in a superb drive that belied his prior misfortune with Gossar, Shane Reed of Muncie, and Jonathan Claywell of New Castle rounding out the top five. 


In the evening's other racing action, Cody Riley of Middletown would suffer early struggles in his day with the Owens Electric Stock Compacts, as a tow strap breakage would cause his car to slide partially off of the trailer. Riley would then miss practice and qualifying, sending him into a last place starting position in the B-Feature. Despite all of this, Riley would prove resilient, charging from the "tail-gunner" position on the field to take the B-Feature for the class. Brad Miller of New Castle would finish second with Brad Ransdell of Indianapolis, Brandon Kindler of Knightstown, and Thomas Winger of New Castle rounding out the top five. The A-Feature for the class would see Johney Greer III of Indianapolis score his first victory at Mt. Lawn and his 3rd in a car that while new to him, isn't to the Mt. Lawn faithful, the old #64 formerly driven by Donald VanValkenburg III. Greer would be chased by Jess Holliday of Indianapolis, coming up a few laps short. Cody Griffith of Greenfield, Chuck Cook of Kennard, and Jordan Sage of Fairborn, Ohio rounding out the top five. In the Midwest Champ Kart Series feature, Mike Mason of Ft. Wayne would pull off a clean sweep, sweeping both the trophy dash and the feature while in the Sunnyside Motors Crown Vics, Kaylee Atkinson of Mooreland would record her first feature victory at Mt. Lawn.


The next race at Mt. Lawn Speedway will be August 22nd and will be the Inaugural Bob Fields Memorial 31, a 31 lap $1,000 to win race for the Fields Auto Parts Street Stocks and Thunder Cars. More information on all that is happening at Mt. Lawn Speedway can be found at Mt. Lawn Speedway is located at 1494 S. County Road 400 West.