Evans, Gossar, Bryant and Cook winners at Mt Lawn

Cool temperature didnít keep the action away for week three of the 2024 season at Mt Lawn Speedway.

In the first feature of the evening Chuck Cook of Wilkinson lead only one lap but it was the most important lap as he got around Greg Clark of New Castle on the final lap to take the win.†† At the drop of the green flag Wes Duvall of Connersville took the lead until 15 year old Collin Sutton of Shirley got around Duvall on lap 5.Sutton making only his third start of his racing career unfortunately went faster than the .15 second break out rule and was blacked flagged on lap 13 giving the lead to Clark.It appeared that Clark was going to get his first feature but Cook finally made his way through the 22 car field to take the lead coming to the checkered flag.Clark did finish second followed by Tommy Pitcher of Cambridge City, Chase Sutton of Middletown, Duvall, Chris Jennings of Richmond, Kyle Evans of Knightstown, Fred Gorman Jr. of New Castle, and Billy Hayes of Charlottesville finished 10th.Top three in qualifications were Cook at 19.048, Evans at 19.143 and Adam Lee of Westwood at 19.237. Crown Vic heat winners were Chase Sutton, Collin Sutton and Duvall.

In the Stock Compact feature Trey Thompson of New Castle led the first lap and Isaiah Mitchell of Greensboro led lap 2. JD Blankenship of Shirley held the top spot for two laps when Mitchell got back in front to lead lap 5.Robert Bryant of Indianapolis took over the lead on lap 6 and led the rest of the way.Darrell Thompson Jr. of New Castle was second followed by Kaiden Claborn of Cambridge City, Jacob Corn of Anderson, Corbin Kidd of New Castle, Brandon Kindler of Shirley, Adam Lee, Dakota Clark of New Castle, Mitchell and Trey Thompson.

Top three in qualifications were Thompson Jr at 19.784, Bryant at 19.813 and Blankenship at 19.832.Stock Compact heat winners were Devon Montague of Middletown and Claborn.

In Pro Compact racing a new feature winner of 2024 as two time winner Josh Owens of New Castle was not in attendance.

Trent Gossar of Markleville led the entire distance to pick up his first Mt Lawn feature win of 2024.Zach Morris of New Castle finished just over three seconds behind Gossar to take second followed by Chris Jennings, Shaylon Calciano of Shirley, TJ Fannin of New Castle, Matt Roe of Muncie, Nathan Gwinn of New Castle, Carson Maddox of Anderson, Larry Hughes Jr. of New Castle and Thomas Winger of New Castle.Top three in qualifications were Morris at 18.437, Fannin at 18.482 and Jennings at 18.574.Feature winner Gossar qualified at 18.578 just .141 seconds behind Morris.

In Modified action for the second week in a row David McConnell of Kennard appeared on his way to victory as he led the 20 laps of the 30 lap feature event. But Andrew Evans of Shirley had other ideas and took the lead on lap 21 and led the rest of the way for his first 2024 feature win.Making his second start at Mt Lawn in a modified Bryan Vaughn of Shirley started on the pole but appeared to have some engine problems at the start of the race.Vaughn was able to hold on the second for over half the event but started to fall back after Andrew was able to move to second on lap 18 followed by Brett Sutton of Shirley.After Andrew got the lead his Brother Austin Evans move to second on lap 23 but could not make a pass for the lead and settled for second.Following the Evans boys were Brent Butler of Knightstown, McConnell, Sutton, Chase Lane of Knightstown, Don Skaggs of Modoc, the Evansí boys father Eric Evans, Frankie Oakes of Cambridge City and Billy Hayes.Vaugh dropped out on lap 21 and finished 11th.Top three in qualifications were Butler at 17.084, Austin Evans at 17.171 and Eric Evans at 17.173. The top eight in qualifications were only separated by .239 seconds leading to some intense action.

Next week Mt Lawn has the week off after three straight weeks and will return to action with the May 5-0ís on May 25th.