May 5-0s at Mt Lawn in the books

Race fans were treated to a little bit of everything on Saturday night during the running of the annual May 5-0s. Two first time winners at Mt Lawn were crowned, two cars got upside down and exciting racing throughout the night.

In the Modified division Brent Butler, formerly of Knightstown took first place for his first feature win. Butler who now resides in Sandusky, Ohio works full time for a Nascar Truck team but still finds time to make it back home to race at Mt Lawn.

Don Skaggs of Modoc started on the pole and led the first two laps when Austin Evans of Shirley took over and stayed #1 until lap 17 when Butler got under him down the backstretch to take the lead. Butler would lead the rest of the race for his first feature win ever. In his victory lane interview he thanked LJ Lines for letting him use LJs famous #76 on his car. Butler also said he grew up coming to Mt Lawn and always wanted to win here. Butler was followed by Austin Evans, Andy Cowan of Modoc, Brent Sutton of Shirley, Eric Evans of Shirley, Skaggs, Keegan Anderson of Knightstown, Billy Hayes of Charlottesville, and Justin Keith of Spiceland. The top six all finished on the lead lap. The top three in time trials were Cowan at 16.862, Sutton at 16.927 and Butler at 16.961.

In Crown Vic action Kyle Evans of Knightstown picked up his second feature win of the year beating two time winner Chuck Cook of Wilkinson by .565 seconds. TJ Callaway of Knightstown led the first two laps when Greg Clark of New Castle got the top spot. On lap 3 Randy Hoppes of Markleville took the lead for the next 8 laps. Cook got around Hoppes on lap 12 until the half way point when Evans took over on lap 26. Following Evans were Cook, Hoppes, Chase Sutton of Shirley, Wes Duvall of Connersville, TJ Moore of Greenfield, Kevin Rabenstine of Muncie, Collin Sutton of Shirley, Clark and Calloway. Top three in qualifications were Cook at 19.312, Jared Keller of Anderson at 19.449 and Evans at 19.630.

In Stock Compact action two cars got on their top marking the first time this year has accomplished. Josh Ebbert of Anderson and Isaiah Mitchell of Greensboro both ended their evening upside down. Ebbert flipped on the first lap of the race and Mitchell on lap 18. Neither driver was hurt in their accidents. A race that took 1 hour 33 minutes to complete because of the accidents and major liquid spill half way around the track Darrell Thompson Jr. of New Castle got the first feature win of his racing career. Trey Thompson of New Castle led the first lap, Kevin Claborn of Cambridge City the next two, Jarrett Smith of New Castle led laps 4 24, Dylan Hoppes of Markleville led 25 48 and Thompson Jr lead the final two laps for the win. Second went to Jacob Corn, Smith, Hoppes, Devon Montague, Trevor Fippen, Kaleb May, Chris Morris, Robbie Drew and JD Blankenship. Top three in trials were Brachelle Wisner of Anderson at 19.828, Isaiah Dunaway 19.833 and Ebbert 19.911.


In Pro Compact action season point leader TJ Fannin of New Castle picked up the win. Trent Gossar led the first ten laps when Fannin took over and led the rest of the way. The race wasnt easy for Fannin as Zach Morris of New Castle dogged him over the final 29 laps to capture second. Morris was followed by Gossar, Shaylon Calciano of Shirley, Chris Jennings of Richmond, Larry Hughes Jr. of Greensboro, Cody Griffith, Dylan Hoppes, JR Vestor and Cody Riley. Top three in qualifications were Josh Owens of New Castle at 18.112, Morris at 18.571 and Calciano at 18.588


Next races at Mt Lawn will be Saturday night June 8th Midwest Legends will join the regular Mt Lawn divisions. Tickets will be $10 with 8 and under free. The pit gate opens at 2, practice and grandstand gate at 4 with racing at 7:00. Check out Mt Lawn on the web at and on Facebook at Mt Lawn 2024 of additional information.