Evans wins fourth Mt Lawn feature

Kyle Evans of Knightstown won the Firecracker 50 Saturday night at Mt Lawn Speedway marking the 4th time this year he has been in Victory Lane. During the 50 lap event there were 5 lead changes with Travis Dobbs of Anderson leading 1-2, Greg Clark of New Castle laps 3-8, Andrew Evans of Shirley laps 9-15, Austin Evans of Shirley 16-40 and the eventual winner Kyle Evans of Knightstown 40 – 50.  Austin and Andrew are brothers and Kyle is the brother of Eric Evans. Eric is Andrew and Austin’s Father.  Second place went to Austin followed by Chase Sutton of Middletown, Chuck Cook of Wilkinson, Korbin Magee of Shirley, Zach Detches of Noblesville, and Ronald Phipps of Anderson, TJ Moore of Greenfield and Wes Duvall of Connersville rounding out the top ten in the 26 car field.  There were no heats In the Crown Vics,

In the Pro Compact feature Trent Gossar of Markleville picked up his second feature of the year.  Gossar took the lead from Travis Lee of Kennard on lap 7 and never gave it up.  Josh Hague of Anderson lap one of the feature before Lee took over.  TJ Fannin of New Castle finished second followed by Lee, Shaylon Calciano of Kennard, Carson Maddox of Anderson, Adam Lee of New Castle, Nathan Gwinn of New Castle, Maddox, Hague, Ron Phipps of Anderson and Cody Riley of Middletown.  Fast time went to Gossar at 18.814 and the heats went to Fannin and Riley.

In Modified action last race feature winner Eric Evans took the lead at the drop of the green flag in hopes of becoming the first two time feature winner of 2024,  Brent Sutton of Middletown however had other ideas as he got around Evans on lap 15 and went on the becoming the first double feature winner of ’24.  Brent Butler of Sandusky, Ohio inherited second place from Chase Lane of Knightstown and Eric Evans as the two got together exiting the short turn coming to the checkered flag and ended up 70 feet short of the finish line.  Third went to Andrew Evans followed by Brian Vaughn of Shirley, Frankie Oakes of Cambridge City, Austin Evans, Don Skaggs of Fort Myers Fla, Colby Lane of Knightstown, Rodney Hammonds of Dunreith and Billy Hayes of Charlottesville.  Heat winners were Andrew Evans and Colby Lane with fast time going to Chase Lane at 17.055.

The Stock Compact division saw a familiar name to longtime Mt Lawn fans at JD Blankenship of New Castle picked up his first feature win of ’24 leading all but the first two laps which belonged to Jacob Corn of New Castle.  Robert Bryan of Indianapolis finished second followed by Brachelle Wisner of Anderson, Jarrett Smith of Shirley, Dakota Clark of New Castle, Corbin Kidd of New Castle, Jacob Corn, Devin Lane of Anderson and Trey Thompson of New Castle.  Darrell Thompson Jr. of New Castle and Devin Lane of New Castle won the heats and Wisner set fast time at 19.750.

July 20th is the next scheduled racing at Mt Lawn with Back(pack) to school night headlining the night’s event for the kids.  Backpacks will be given away to lucky children who are on hand for the races.  Racing will consist of Modifieds, Crown Vics, Stock Compacts and Pro Compacts.  Ticket prices are $10 with kids 8 and under free.